Essential Oils For Keeping the Family Well…

This yucky time of year is beyond one of my least favorite, at least now as a new mother. Typically, I can’t wait for the snowfall, the white wonderland, the icy breezes, and the quietness that comes with winter – but this year, with a newborn, things changed. I feel like I see germs looming at every venue. The grocery store. The doctors office. Daddy’s hands when he comes home from running errands. Heck, even our mailbox. I see a coughing person and I grab the baby and walk in the opposite direction.

Unfortunately, I can’t avoid the world forever… (at least not as a functioning adult in society)

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

When Atlas was born Jared came down with a cold – his first cold in years (AWESOME timing). I have been very well this season, constantly drinking water and using my sickness prevention essential oils, but my workaholic hubby had not been so consistent which resulted in a head cold that lingered for over a week.

I got very serious about germ prevention as soon as Atlas left the hospital, the last thing I wanted (or needed) was my small person coming down with something.

Here are some strategies I used with essential oils. I truly do love love love EO and what they have done for myself and for my family. From cleaning to labor, I have yet to find a need in my life that EO weren’t able to take care of.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

DIFFUSE DIFFUSE DIFFUSE

I just got a diffuser around Christmas time that I could use during labor and delivery (a wonderful investment I might add) and have been using it for its full potential ever since we brought Atlas home. Currently I keep these essential oils diffusing on an almost nonstop basis: clove, thieves, purification, and rosemary. Sometimes I add lavender also, just for the calming effect. All are shown to assist in sickness prevention and plus they smell wonderful, so your home has a coziness to it. You can either blend them or use them on their own. I typically combine thieves and lavender, cloves and purification, and rosemary and thieves and lavender. That’s just me – do what feels (and smells) right to you.

SICKNESS PREVENTION ROLLER

I really LOVE rolling on our essential oils. It keeps your hands from becoming an oily mess and the oil is applied to exactly where it is needed so is less wasteful and ultimately a cost saving measure for you. I got rollers like these off of Amazon. Here is the recipe: combine 10 drops thieves, 10 drops lemon and 10 drops purification essential oils to the roller then fill up the rest of the way with a carrier oil – I prefer grape seed oil because it can be used on any kind of skin.

Don’t want to buy Thieves and Purification essential oils from Young Living? Try these recipes to make the blend at home…

Thieves Blend:

40 drops of clove, 35 of lemon, 20 of cinnamon, 15 of eucalyptus, and 10 of rosemary

Purification Blend:

25 drops of lemon, 20 of rosemary, 20 of tea tree, and 15 of lavender

LINEN SPRAY

An easy way to regularly get a dosing of essential oils. Simply combine a pinch of sea salt, 5 drops lavender, 5 drops thieves, and 5 drops purification then fill up the rest of the way with distilled water. I use spray bottles like these.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Already starting to feel sick? Try these essential oils…

FEVER ROLLER: 5 drops of lemon, 10 drops of lavender, and 2 drops peppermint – fill the rest of the way with a carrier oil. Apply to the bottoms of feet, wrists, sides of neck and forehead.

COUGH AND CONGESTION ROLLER: 20 drops eucalyptus, 5 peppermint, and 2 of tea tree oil – fill the rest of the way with a carrier oil – apply to chest, neck, wrists and bottoms of feet.

EAR INFECTION: Apply 2 drops melrose with a carrier oil behind and on the ear.

Melrose Blend:

20 drops of tea tree oil, 20 of rosemary, and 20 of clove

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Remember that depending on the age of your child (infant, toddler, young child, child, and teenager) you will need to dilute your blends differently – so your blends may not be the exact recipe as mine – which are recorded here as mixes for adults. I suggest purchasing this book for more information on essential oils and their safety for children.

Also, essential oils can truly only do SO much. That means if your child has a temperature, especially an ongoing one, has persistent vomiting or diarrhea, or has a heat rash, go in to see a medical professional.

XOXO

Leave a Reply

