How To Make Trashcan Deodorizers With Essential Oils and Baking Soda

For a long while I was struggling with the stench that was seeping out of our trashcans. It was a hard battle because we don’t throw away much and what we do throw out tends to be food waste, so it accumulates slowly and smells to high heaven. I used up the rest of a spray can of Lysol I have had since… I’m pretty sure when I first moved out of my parents’, so, 6 years? And then we bought a bottle of Method’s Antibacterial All Purpose Spray, but to be honest there is something nauseating about ‘fake flower’ smell.

IMG_3255

These little bars work so well that I have had no need to spray anything in the can to get rid of the smell since I started using them. Each bar should last around 3 months and this recipe makes 12 muffin sized bars. Essentially, for just a few cents a piece, you will make enough deodorizers for 3 years (if you only have one trashcan)… wow! I put the extras in a ziplock baggy and stashed them under the sink. Another aspect I love about these deodorizers, besides the price, is how few ingredients they contain. This way, I know exactly what is around my family. It takes a bit of time, but I feel a whole lot safer and content making my own household products. You can use them in trashcans, diaper pails, basically anything stinky.

IMG_3254

What You’ll Need:

2 cups baking soda

muffin pan – you will also need wax paper or you could use muffin paper liners also

citrus essential oils – I used 20 drops of lemon and 20 drops of orange

10 Tbs distilled water

IMG_3256

How To:

Line each section of the muffin pan with either wax paper or a paper liner.

Mix your ingredients together to make a thick paste.

Spoon in your mixture to the pan – this recipe should make 12 deodorizers.

Let the mixture sit for 24-48 hours, depending on your climate. I went the ‘better safe then sorry’ route and waited 2 days.

Place one deodorizer bar at the bottom of any trashcan or diaper pail and replace after 3 or so months of use.

Leave a Reply

