Chamomile Tea With Dried Flowers

I have this problem with Whole Foods… they put their beautiful blooms right in the entry way and I ALWAYS justify getting myself something pretty. As of lately, however, I’ve had to only get flowers and plant sprigs that I know I can use for something else too. Such as eucalyptus – I’ve used it for keeping spiders out of the house, hanging in the bathroom shower when we are sick and drying it out to add to my various bath salts and scrubs. A few weeks ago I found chamomile (woohoo!) so I decided to try my hand at chamomile tea.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

You’ll first want to hang your flowers upside down in a cool(er), dark place. I first enjoyed my flowers for several days, almost a week, then hung them. The stairs to the basement was the perfect place – plus it smelled heavenly every time I opened the door to go down and do the laundry.

img_3429

When your flowers are dried, pop the flower heads off and discard the stems and leaves. Store the flower heads in an airtight container.

img_3430

When you’re ready for some tea boil 8 cups of water and 1-2 tbs of the chamomile flower heads. (I made the mistake of making 1-2 tbs with 8 oz of water… and it tasted like I was drinking cleaning solution – so don’t do that.) Strain out the flowers or you can use a nifty loose leaf tea strainer like this one.

img_3432

If you’re looking for a fun twist try adding fresh mint springs to your tea or dried lavender!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Leave a Reply

