September Bookshelf

Reading is one of my husband’s and I’s favorite pastimes. The act of sitting down, grabbing a blanket, curling up by a naturally lit window and indulging the senses is so peaceful and our favorite way to start, and end, our days.

Screen Shot 2016-10-03 at 11.22.16 AM.png

Sometimes we read ‘for fun’ – novels and such, but for the most part our reading consists of preparation… whether it be parenting/marriage books, canning and cooking, or biographies of surgeons, we use our reading time to learn. And learning is what its all about for us.

This month I decided to finally begin to share what it is that we are reading and our thoughts on both the books and the topic of which we are interested. I don’t know about you, but its so comforting for me to look at lists of enjoyed books from my trusted friends and bloggers instead of the exhausting process of skimming the library aisles or googling “parenting” and sifting through hundreds of thousands of titles.

Renting, borrowing, and lending from the library has given us the opportunity to read lots of great quality books without the waste of production it takes to make a new book or the misspent dollars in books we don’t truly adore. Jared and I have tried to be incredibly purposeful in what we choose to purchase and why. We want our bookshelves to be filled with the literature we lend out often and that each book we can not only rave about, but can be certain that the content will be very beneficial to the person reading it. We want our books to be the ones we read again and again. With that said, there are lots of books out there that we simply just want to read, or reference every so often, and those are the ones we borrow from the library. Plus its fun to order our books through the university library and wait expectantly for them to arrive.

Screen Shot 2016-10-03 at 11.22.30 AM.png

Simple Matters by Erin Boyle: All I can say about this book is wow. It was both encouraging in the efforts we have already made in our home to be simplistic, but also inspiring in that there is so much more we can be doing. I love Erin’s writing style and have followed her blog for several years now so I am a self-labeled groupie. If you are interested at all in simplistic, minimal living with the intent of bettering yourself, your family, and your environment – this is worth a glance through at the least.

Minimalist Baker’s Everyday Cooking: 101 Entirely Plant-Based, Mostly Gluten-Free, Easy and Delicious Recipes by Dana Shultz: I am OBSESSED with the minimalist baker – her cookbook and her website. Her recipes are vegan, mostly GF, and super super easy to follow along with.

Gluten-Free Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day by Jeff Hertzberg: Bread is something that I have missed dearly since finding out that I have celiacs. I love being able to make great tasting bread everyday/every other day instead of buying store bought bread all of the time.

Canning for a New Generation: Bold, Fresh Flavors for the Modern Pantry by Liana Krissoff: I recently have begun my career as a canner and I needed a LOT of help. I’ve grown us seeing my parents and grandparents can, but in my unfortunate youth decided that canning was for ‘old folks’ and I never wanted to learn – my loss, seriously. I had a steep learning curve to hurdle and this book was incredibly useful in not only preparing be for canning and the do’s and don’ts, but also have amazing recipes that were easy and tasted delicious.

Feminine Appeal: Seven Virtues of a Godly Wife and Mother by Carolyn Mahaney: I cannot stop recommending this book to my fellow Christian women and am hoping to lead a book study at our church in the near future. It is uplifting, convicting, and biblically sound. More than that, it helps the reader in knowing she is not alone – that we all struggle with our various roles, but that our God is bigger than our fears and mis-footing and He designs everything for our good and His glory.

One thought on “September Bookshelf

  1. You know honey when Grandpa and I was on the farm we canned an enormous amount of food. I have always wanted to know what I was eating so I am so glad you have taken up the “old folks” way canning. Love you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

